Racing

ABS Cover PicAttention all WVSC Members – Racing Season Has Begun!!

WVSC 2017 Spring Club Races

Wednesday, August 2, ‘17              7:00 PM          Van Dam

Wednesday, August 9, ‘17              7:00 PM          Van Dam

Saturday, August 19, ‘17              2:00 PM             Condon

Saturday, August 26, ‘17              2:00 PM             Brown

Saturday, September 2, ‘17           2:00 PM          Pierce

Saturday, September 9, ‘17           2:00 PM         Rousseau

Saturday, September 16, ‘17          2:00 PM       Proudfoot

Saturday, September 23, ‘17           2:00 PM      Kubin

Saturday, September 30, ‘17      2:00 PM           Van Dam

Saturday, October 7, ‘17              2:00 PM             Brown

Saturday, October 14,’ 17              2:00 PM           Condon

Saturday, October 21, ‘17              2:00 PM           Kubin

Saturday, October 28, ‘17              2:00 PM            Nold

(1) Skipper’s Meeting 1 hour before start time.

(2) Race Committee Coordinator can a) either do the race committee on that date, b) trade with

someone else, or c) arrange someone else to cover the date, but it is your responsibility to get us a race committee for your date. Please plan early to save disappointment.

Race Committee is asked to attempt to have 2 races on each date, if at all possible.

Race committee is asked to attempt to have race courses >45 min in duration each.

2017 WVSC Race Scoring

Boat Scoring: Portsmouth Yardstick. Wind Handicap (HC) at race committee option. Score is for the boat

Five (5) minute start sequence

Points scored on finish order, i.e. 1 point fot first, 2 for second, stc.

Race Committee is asked to attempt to have 2 races on each date, if at all possible

Race committee is asked to attempt to have race course >45 min in duration each.

Three (3) boats constitute a fleet: Keelboat or Centerboard Each Keelboat or Centerboard fleet will get it’s own start Minimum three (3) boats in a class for a race to qualify in series

DNF “did not finish” = total starters +1

DNS “did not start” = no penalty

DNQ “Did not Qualify” = for series award

50% participation to qualify for a series

Series Champion = lowest point sum for best 50% of qualifying races in series

Club Champion = lowest point sum for best 50% of qualifying races in the total season